Happy Saturday

An online group I belong to, which I affectionately call “The Moms” (you know who you are), has Happy Saturdays—every Saturday. Simply this: every Saturday, do something for yourself that makes you happy. Today I’ve overdone it!

First was my monthly art support group, which alone would have filled my quota. I am always encouraged and inspired not only by Sharon but also the other member artists.

Next stop: the Cloverfield Farmers’ Market in Santa Monica, just a few blocks from class. With only 20 left, I made a quick circle and bought some dinosaur kale (I’ll find its proper name and insert later), mint, fresh ginger, green onions (L can’t get enough of them), a red onion, a white onion, and three parsnips.

Then a delicious visit to Bay Cities Italian Deli & Bakery. It’s been years and years since I’ve been there, but am making two appetizers to bring to a Tuscan dinner party tomorrow night. (More on that later.) There was a long line at the deli counter, as expected. I had time to go up and down the aisles looking at all the marvels.

I picked up some pappardelle, delighted by inspecting all the beautiful pastas. So many shapes and colors. Some anchovies in olive oil, in a cute little glass jar. A frozen pizza dough, all rolled out, for $1.98(!). The smallest parmesan reggiano chunk in the pile. Two loaves of still-warm bread. When my turn at the counter came, I ordered the ham and mortadella I need for the recipe I’m making, and a large poorboy with everything on it. While I was there, I had to eat!

At a nice, well stocked, easy-to-get to produce store called Marina Farms, I bought fresh spinach, fresh basil and peppers: 2 yellow, 1 orange, and 3 red. They are for the 2nd appetizer I’m making.

And there are still more things I need to shop for: ground meat, pine nuts, slivered almonds. . . that might be all. Probably two more stops, though. Trader Joes for nuts and either Super A or Whole Foods for the meat. Most markets don’t have a real butcher anymore!

My last Happy Saturday item, (so far–the day’s not done yet–) was a rainbow. Way down at the bottom of the sky (why??!), in Santa Monica right after an impressive cloudburst while I was roaming Bay Cities. A rainbow in Southern California! Now that’s Happy.

This entry was posted in appetizers, ingredients. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

