Victory over the smoke alarm!

Some people know about my challenges with the smoke alarm in our Boise apartment. I set it off nearly every time I cook! However last night I discovered an excellent tip for broiling steaks in our apartment-sized oven, courtesy of the internet:

Put a layer of kosher salt in the bottom of the broiler pan, and broil as usual. The salt absorbs the drippings so that they don’t smoke. The salt doesn’t burn, either. It worked great.

Now, if I could just figure out how to keep the broiler element from turning OFF while I’m trying to cook.

 

Here’s the link: http://recipes.helium.com/how-to/11126-how-to-broil-steak-without-it-smoking

This entry was posted in equipment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

