Chile & Potato Stew

I was happy to find this recipe is a keeper. Slightly adapted from FOOD52’s post of Deborah Madison’s Potato and Green Chile Stew. Other than the poblano, chances are good that you already have everything you need to make this quick delicious dinner. Big L had seconds, I only had one serving, and there is about 1 cup left for next time. I think we could have finished it off!

Easy to double or triple, I’d think. Tasty as can be. Cheap to make. What more could you ask for?

INGREDIENTS:

1 poblano chile, roasted and peeled (I set it on top of the gas burner, rotated it all around with tongs, and stuck it in a plastic bag to steam. Um, overnight. I forgot. Better to take the skin off when first roasted, I believe)

2 T cooking oil (I used avocado oil from Costco. Takes high heat)

3/4 med onion, diced (more would be fine)

1/2 tsp whole coriander, ground up with mom’s mortar & pestle

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1 garlic clove, minced (add more)

russet potatoes (I used 1.1 lb, two medium russets), peeled and chopped into 1 1/2″ chunks

ADDITIONS: whatever you’ve got that sounds good. I added 1 small zucchini, chopped, a few tomatillos, a few green cherry tomatoes, a few orange cherry tomatoes — whatever is hanging around : )  I may try some chopped greens, which are good to add to anything, right?

Salt & Pepper

chicken stock or water (I used some of both, at least 1 1/2 cups. Start with 1 cup and add more if needed)

To garnish: sour cream or yogurt, chopped cilantro

___

DIRECTIONS

Chop the chiles, coarsely. Heat the oil in a larger cooking pot. Cook onions, any additional veggies. Add cumin and coriander and let it sizzle. Cook a while, then add garlic, potatoes and cook some more,add 1/2 tsp salt. Then add liquid (stock or water or combo), and the chopped chile, bring to a boil, then let simmer, covered, for 20-30 min. Don’t let the potatoes get too soggy. Mash some of them to thicken the broth. Garnish as desired (I forgot to, and it was fine). Forgetting is a common occurrence whilst cooking!

This entry was posted in entree, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

